The 20th ACM Symposium on Applied Computing

Special Track on Handheld Computing (HHC)

Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA March 13 - 17, 2005

For the past nineteen years, the ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (SAC) has been a primary gathering forum for applied computer scientists, computer engineers, software engineers, and application developers from around the world. SAC 2005 is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Applied Computing, and is hosted this year by New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, Socorro, NM, USA.

Handheld Computing
Handheld computing is a mobile computing paradigm that uses handheld wireless devices (or mobile devices) such as cellular phones and Personal Digital Assistants (PDAs) to accomplish various computing tasks. As handheld devices continue to appear in many forms with diverse functionalities, handheld computing will become the dominant computing paradigm in many fields including education, enterprises, and healthcare.

The aim of this technical track is to bring together researchers and practitioners who are active in this research area to meet and share their experiences. Topics of interest include, but not limited to:

Submission Guidelines
Authors are invited to submit original papers in any of the areas listed above. Submissions must be original, unpublished and not currently under review by workshops, conferences, or journals. All submissions should be sent to the track chairs at this email address (

Authors should pay particular attention to the following guidelines:

All accepted papers will be published in the annual conference proceedings and will be available at the conference. Note that accepted papers must fit within five (5) two-column pages, with the option to add three (3) more pages at an additional expense.

Important Dates
Papers are due: September 3, 2004 (hard deadline with no exceptions)
Author notification: October 14, 2004
Camera ready copy: November 5, 2004

Track Chairs

Program Committee
Sehl Melloui, Laval University, Canada
Schahram Dustdar, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Michael Berger, Siemens, Germany
Walter Binder, EPFL, Switzerland
Abdelmounaam Rezgui, Virginia Tech, USA
Weiming Shen, NRC, Canada
Shamima Paurobally, University of Southampton, UK
Farouk Belghoul, EURECOM, France
Mieso Denko, University of Guelph, Canada
Tayeb Lemlouma, INRIA Rhône-Alpes, France
Sobah Abbas Peterson, Computas Technology AS, Norway
Dipanjan Chakraborty, IBM, USA
John Shepherdson, BT, UK
Joana Lumsden, NRC, Canada
Selim Aissi, Intel, USA
M. Brian Blake, Georgetown University, USA
Stefan Poslad, Queen Mary University of London, UK