The 21st ACM Symposium on Applied Computing

Special Track on Handheld Computing (HHC)

Dijon, France April 23 - 27, 2006

For the past nineteen years, the ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (SAC) has been a primary gathering forum for applied computer scientists, computer engineers, software engineers, and application developers from around the world. SAC 2006 is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Applied Computing, and is hosted this year by Bourgogne University, Dijon, France.

Handheld Computing
Handheld computing is a mobile computing paradigm that uses handheld wireless devices (or mobile devices) such as cellular phones and Personal Digital Assistants (PDAs) to accomplish various computing tasks. As handheld devices continue to appear in many forms with diverse functionalities, handheld computing will become the dominant computing paradigm in many fields including education, enterprises, and healthcare.

The aim of this technical track is to bring together researchers and practitioners who are active in this research area to meet and share their experiences. Topics of interest include, but not limited to:

Submission Guidelines


Authors are invited to submit original papers in any of the areas listed above. Submissions must be original, unpublished and not currently under review by workshops, conferences, or journals. All papers should be submitted online at

Authors should pay particular attention to the following guidelines:

All accepted papers will be published in the annual conference proceedings and will be available at the conference. Note that accepted papers must fit within five (5) two-column pages, with the option to add three (3) more pages at an additional expense.

Important Dates
Papers are due: September 3, 2005 (hard deadline with no exceptions)
Author notification: October 15, 2005
Camera ready copy: November 5, 2005

Track Chairs

Program Committee
Walter Binder, EPFL, Switzerland
Abdelmounaam Rezgui, Virginia Tech, USA
Eiko Yoneki, University of Cambridge, UK
Tayeb Lemlouma, INRIA Rhône-Alpes, France
Stephane Bressan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Sobah Abbas Peterson, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Jo Lumsden, National Research Council, Canada
Shamima Paurobally, University of Southampton, UK
Abdelouahid Derhab, CERIST, Algeria
Michela Bertolotto, University College Dublin, Ireland
Hamamache Kheddouci, Universit‚ Claude Bernard Lyon 1, France
Jarle G. Hulaas, EPFL, Switzerland
Alvin Chan, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Sehl Mellouli, Universit‚ Laval, Canada
Schahram Dustdar, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Djamal Benslimane, Lyon 1 University, France
Michael Berger, Siemens Corporate Technology, Germany
Mieso Denko, University of Guelph, Canada
Wathiq Mansoor, Zayed University, United Arab Emirates
Dipanjan Chakraborty, IBM India Research Labs, India
Nidal Nasser, University of Guelph, Canada
Quan Z. Sheng, The University of New South Wales, Australia
Weiming Shen, National Research Council, Canada
Hans Weghorn, BA-Stuttgart, Germany